• ABOUT

    Based on global warming, decline of existing energy resources, exponential population growth, increasing geopolitical instabilities which are the result of uncertainty of the future energy supply, together with the fact that buildings represent about 40% of total energy consumption worldwide leads to a conclusion that a good architecture is not possible without a good energy concept.

     

    The buildings represent the bigger part of one of the biggest problem of our society - fair distribution of available resources. Therefore architecture can be a big part of the solution. Never before in the history of our civilization architecture had such a chance to gain one of the central roles in the society. Good architecture is always representing the expression of the cultural values, priorities and hopes of a society. Now it can produce a physical response for the existential challenges.

     

    A sustainable development by definition cannot get along with the decay in architectural quality of our built environment. A building with low architectural quality and good energy concept is not an actual benefit for a sustainable future. The objective of research and teaching at the Institute is the maximization of energy performance of buildings and cities, and the development of architectural and urban projects through form and structure optimization toward energy efficiency.

  • TEAM

    Head of the Institute

    Brian Cody

    consultation-hour

    Assistant

    consultation-hour - wednesday 11:00 - 12:00

    alexander.eberl@tugraz.at

    Project Assistant/Lector

    Sebastian Sautter

    sautter@tugraz.at

    Lector

    Martin Schneebacher

    martin.schneebacher@tugraz.at

    Student assistant

    lilli.kroher@student.tugraz.at

    Office hours

    Monday - Friday, 09:00 - 12:00

    doris.damm@tugraz.at

    Assistant

    Aleksandar Tepavcevic

    consultation-hour - friday 11:00 - 12:00

    aleksandar.tepavcevic@tugraz.at

    Lector

    Alexandru Dan

    dan@tugraz.at

    Student assistant

    filip.l.pejic@student.tugraz.at

    Assistant

    Christiane Wermke

    christiane.wermke@tugraz.at

    Lector

    Minoru Suzkuki

    minoru.suzuki@tugraz.at

    Student assistant

    predrag.jovanovic@student.tugraz.at

D

 / E

Double Skin Building Envelopes and their impact on the HVAC Systems and energy efficiency of Buildings

Prof. Brian Cody

 

 

 

INFO

PHOTOS

Fields of reference

Building Performance

 

Description

 Case studies were used in order to examine the impact on designing and dimensioning of building service systems as well as the overall energy efficiency of buildings. The essential outcome of this research was the understanding that the energy efficiency of buildings with double skins depends on whether the double skin facade allows the elimination of building services i.e. mechanical ventilation. If this is not the case, it can take up to 25 years for the initial manufacturing energy of the second skin to redeem through operation energy savings. However, if a complete building service system can be eliminated by constructing a second building skin, the payback time can be reduced to a reasonable time frame, in some cases even within two years. The investigated case studies clearly show, a highly efficient double skin facade not only can improve the energetic building behavior but also help reduce investment costs of building services significantly. That is why the economic efficiency of such a measurement should not only be evaluated towards the potential to reduce costs for energy but also in correlation of a possible reduction of investment costs for HVAC- systems in the building. A mere reduction in size of building services more often than not have not happened on a noteworthy scale in terms of savings.

 

Duration

November 2004 – October 2005

 

Publications

Cody, B.: “Double skin building envelopes and their impact on the HVAC systems and energy efficiency of Buildings”, Conference Proceedings, 8th REHVA World Congress Clima 2005, Lausanne, Schweiz, 2005

PDF

Cody, B.: „Double Skin Building Envelopes, Building Energy Performance and Architecture”, Conference Proceedings, European Conference and Cooperation Exchange 2006, Sustainable Energy Systems for Buildings: Challenges and Chances, Arsenal Research, Wien, Österreich, 2011

PDF

Cody, B.: „Energieeffizienz in Gebäuden“, in: VDI Berichte 2034, Fassaden - Blick in die Zukunft, VDI Verlag, Düsseldorf, Deutschland, 2008

PDF

 

More info: tug online

copyright - Institut für Gebäude und Energie , TU Graz, 2016

Impressum

• ABOUT

    Vor dem vorherrschenden Hintergrund der globalen Erwärmung, rapide zur Neige gehenden Energieressourcen, exponentiellen Bevölkerungswachstums, steigenden geopolitischen Instabilitäten, die aus der Unsicherheit der zukünftigen Energieversorgungssituation resultieren, zusammen mit der Tatsache, dass Gebäude für mindestens 40% des weltweiten Energieverbrauches verantwortlich sind, ist gute Architektur ohne ein gutes Energiekonzept nicht möglich.

     

    Gebäude stellen einen Großteil eines der wahrscheinlich größten Probleme unserer Gesellschaft dar - nämlich die gerechte Aufteilung, der uns zur Verfügung stehenden Ressourcen. Architektur kann somit einen Großteil der Lösung darstellen. Nie zuvor wurde dieser Disziplin eine vergleichbare Chance geboten, eine derartige zentrale Rolle in der Geschichte der Menschheit einzunehmen. Gute Architektur ist immer ein konkreter Ausdruck der kulturellen Werte, Prioritäten und Hoffnungen einer Gesellschaft. Jetzt kann sie auch die physische Antwort für diese existentielle Herausforderung liefern.

     

    Eine nachhaltige Entwicklung kann per Definition nicht mit einem gleichzeitigen Verlust an der architektonischen Qualität unserer gebauten Umwelt einhergehen. Ein Gebäude mit wenig architektonischer Qualität und einem guten Energiekonzept leistet somit keinen wirklichen Beitrag zu einer nachhaltigen Zukunft. Schwerpunkt der Forschung und Lehre am IGE ist die Maximierung der Energieperformance von Gebäuden und Städten und die Entwicklung von Architektur- und Urban Designprojekten, welche durch Optimierung ihrer Form und Struktur inhärent hoch energieeffizient sind.

     

  • TEAM

    Institutsleiter

    Brian Cody

    Sprechstunden n. V. im Sekretariat

    Universitätsassistent

    Alexander Eberl

    Sprechstunden Mittwoch 11:00 - 12:00

    alexander.eberl@tugraz.at

    Projektassistent/Lehrbeauftragter

    Sebastian Sautter

    sautter@tugraz.at

    Lehrbeauftragter

    Martin Schneebacher

    martin.schneebacher@tugraz.at

    Studienassistentin

    Vesa Bunjaku

    vesabunja@gmail.com

    Sekretariat

    Doris Damm

    Öffnungszeiten Sekretariat:

    Montag - Freitag, 09:00 - 12:00

    doris.damm@tugraz.at

    Universitätsassistent

    Aleksandar Tepavcevic

    Sprechstunden Freitag 11:00 - 12:00

    aleksandar.tepavcevic@tugraz.at

    Lehrbeauftragter

    dan@tugraz.at

    Studienassistentin

    Gresë Ramadani

    ramadanigrese@gmail.com

    Universitätsassistentin

    Christiane Wermke

    christiane.wermke@tugraz.at

    Lehrbeauftragter

    Minoru Suzkuki

    minoru.suzuki@tugraz.at

    Studienassistent

    predrag.jovanovic@student.tugraz.at

    Studienassistentin

    lilli.kroher@student.tugraz.at

    Studienassistent

    filip.l.pejic@student.tugraz.at

D /

E

Doppelschalige Gebäudehüllen und Energieeffizienz

Prof. Brian Cody

 

 

 

INFO

BILDER

Sachgebiet

Building Performance

 

Beschreibung

Fallstudien wurden herangezogen, um Doppelfassaden in ihrer Wirkung auf die Planung und Dimensionierung der Gebäudetechniksysteme sowie auf die Gesamtenergieeffizienz von Gebäuden zu untersuchen. Das wesentliche Ergebnis dieser Untersuchungen war die Erkenntnis, dass die Energieeffizienz von Gebäuden mit Doppelfassaden davon abhängt, ob durch den Einsatz der Doppelfassade der Verzicht auf ganze gebäudetechnische Systeme (beispielsweise mechanische Lüftung) ermöglicht wird. Wenn dies nicht der Fall ist, kann es bis zu 25 Jahre dauern, bis der zusätzliche herstellungsenergetische Aufwand der zweiten Haut durch Energieeinsparungen im Betrieb wieder ausgeglichen wird. Kann dagegen aufgrund der Doppelfassade ein komplettes gebäudetechnisches System entfallen, reduziert sich diese energetische Amortisationszeit auf einen sinnvollen Zeitraum, in manchen Fällen sogar innerhalb von 2 Jahren. Die untersuchten Fallstudien zeigen deutlich, dass höchst effiziente Doppelfassaden nicht nur das energetische Gebäudeverhalten verbessern können, sondern auch die Investitionskosten der Gebäudetechnik signifikant senken können. Deshalb ist auch die Wirtschaftlichkeit einer solchen Maßnahme nicht nur bezüglich ihrem Potential zur Senkung von Energiekosten zu bewerten, sondern immer in Zusammenhang mit einer möglichen Reduktion der Investitionskosten für HLK-Systeme im Gebäude zu sehen. Eine bloße Reduktion der Größe der Gebäudetechniksysteme führt meist zu keinen nennenswerten Einsparungen.

 

Laufzeit

November 2004 – Oktober 2005

 

Veröffentlichungen

Cody, B.: “Double skin building envelopes and their impact on the HVAC systems and energy efficiency of Buildings”, Conference Proceedings, 8th REHVA World Congress Clima 2005, Lausanne, Schweiz, 2005

PDF

Cody, B.: „Double Skin Building Envelopes, Building Energy Performance and Architecture”, Conference Proceedings, European Conference and Cooperation Exchange 2006, Sustainable Energy Systems for Buildings: Challenges and Chances, Arsenal Research, Wien, Österreich, 2011

PDF

Cody, B.: „Energieeffizienz in Gebäuden“, in: VDI Berichte 2034, Fassaden - Blick in die Zukunft, VDI Verlag, Düsseldorf, Deutschland, 2008

PDF

 

Mehr Info: tug online

copyright - Institut für Gebäude und Energie , TU Graz, 2016

Impressum