INSTITUTE NEWS TEACHING RESEARCH CONTACT
  • ABOUT

    Based on global warming, decline of existing energy resources, exponential population growth, increasing geopolitical instabilities which are the result of uncertainty of the future energy supply, together with the fact that buildings represent about 40% of total energy consumption worldwide leads to a conclusion that a good architecture is not possible without a good energy concept.

     

    The buildings represent the bigger part of one of the biggest problem of our society - fair distribution of available resources. Therefore architecture can be a big part of the solution. Never before in the history of our civilization architecture had such a chance to gain one of the central roles in the society. Good architecture is always representing the expression of the cultural values, priorities and hopes of a society. Now it can produce a physical response for the existential challenges.

     

    A sustainable development by definition cannot get along with the decay in architectural quality of our built environment. A building with low architectural quality and good energy concept is not an actual benefit for a sustainable future. The objective of research and teaching at the Institute is the maximization of energy performance of buildings and cities, and the development of architectural and urban projects through form and structure optimization toward energy efficiency.

  • TEAM

    Head of the Institute

    Brian Cody

    consultation-hour

    Office hours

    Monday - Friday, 09:00 - 12:00

    doris.damm@tugraz.at

    consultation-hour - wednesday 11:00 - 12:00

    alexander.eberl@tugraz.at

    consultation-hour - friday 11:00 - 12:00

    aleksandar.tepavcevic@tugraz.at

    christiane.wermke@tugraz.at

    Project Assistant/Lector

    edina.majdanacqtugraz.at

    Project Assistant/Lector

    podmirseg@verticalfarminstitute.org

    Project Assistant/Lector

    Sebastian Sautter

    sautter@tugraz.at

    hatice.cody@tugraz.at

    alexandru.daan@gmail.com

    wolfgang.loeschnig@tugraz.at

    martin.schneebacher@tugraz.at

    nawara@exikon.at

    minoru.suzuki@tugraz.at

    Student assistant

    vesabunja@gmail.com

    Student assistant

    sever@student.tugraz.at

D

 / E

LV 159.560 - Lecture / Exercise - Bachelor

Building engineering

INFO

PROJECTS

Based on the contents of the lecture series, students will be provided with the ability to evaluate building from a building engineering and energetic point of view. The resulting knowledge can be applied to future design projects. By using the working method of case studies of well-known buildings, the complex interdependency between climate, building envelope, active building engineering systems and last but not least, architectural form will be analyzed and illustrated. The focus is on the question of how architecture and technology interact and whether or not they can reinforce each other in a positive synergistic sense.  Architectural models on the case studies will be built by the students and are intended to enable and aid the understanding of the complex systems involved and especially of their architectural implications.

 

tug online

copyright - Institut für Gebäude und Energie , TU Graz, 2016

Impressum

• ABOUT

    Vor dem vorherrschenden Hintergrund der globalen Erwärmung, rapide zur Neige gehenden Energieressourcen, exponentiellen Bevölkerungswachstums, steigenden geopolitischen Instabilitäten, die aus der Unsicherheit der zukünftigen Energieversorgungssituation resultieren, zusammen mit der Tatsache, dass Gebäude für mindestens 40% des weltweiten Energieverbrauches verantwortlich sind, ist gute Architektur ohne ein gutes Energiekonzept nicht möglich.

     

    Gebäude stellen einen Großteil eines der wahrscheinlich größten Probleme unserer Gesellschaft dar - nämlich die gerechte Aufteilung, der uns zur Verfügung stehenden Ressourcen. Architektur kann somit einen Großteil der Lösung darstellen. Nie zuvor wurde dieser Disziplin eine vergleichbare Chance geboten, eine derartige zentrale Rolle in der Geschichte der Menschheit einzunehmen. Gute Architektur ist immer ein konkreter Ausdruck der kulturellen Werte, Prioritäten und Hoffnungen einer Gesellschaft. Jetzt kann sie auch die physische Antwort für diese existentielle Herausforderung liefern.

     

    Eine nachhaltige Entwicklung kann per Definition nicht mit einem gleichzeitigen Verlust an der architektonischen Qualität unserer gebauten Umwelt einhergehen. Ein Gebäude mit wenig architektonischer Qualität und einem guten Energiekonzept leistet somit keinen wirklichen Beitrag zu einer nachhaltigen Zukunft. Schwerpunkt der Forschung und Lehre am IGE ist die Maximierung der Energieperformance von Gebäuden und Städten und die Entwicklung von Architektur- und Urban Designprojekten, welche durch Optimierung ihrer Form und Struktur inhärent hoch energieeffizient sind.

     

  • TEAM

    Institutsleiter

    Brian Cody

    Sprechstunden n. V. im Sekretariat

    Universitätsassistent

    Alexander Eberl

    Sprechstunden Mittwoch 11:00 - 12:00

    alexander.eberl@tugraz.at

    Projektassistent/Lehrbeauftragter

    Sebastian Sautter

    sautter@tugraz.at

    Lehrbeauftragter

    Martin Schneebacher

    martin.schneebacher@tugraz.at

    Studienassistentin

    Vesa Bunjaku

    vesabunja@gmail.com

    Studienassistentin

    lilli.kroher@student.tugraz.at

    Sekretariat

    Doris Damm

    Öffnungszeiten Sekretariat:

    Montag - Freitag, 09:00 - 12:00

    doris.damm@tugraz.at

    Universitätsassistent

    Aleksandar Tepavcevic

    Sprechstunden Freitag 11:00 - 12:00

    aleksandar.tepavcevic@tugraz.at

    Lehrbeauftragter

    dan@tugraz.at

    Studienassistentin

    Gresë Ramadani

    ramadanigrese@gmail.com

    Studienassistent

    filip.l.pejic@student.tugraz.at

    Universitätsassistentin

    Christiane Wermke

    christiane.wermke@tugraz.at

    Lehrbeauftragter

    Minoru Suzkuki

    minoru.suzuki@tugraz.at

    Studienassistent

    predrag.jovanovic@student.tugraz.at

D /

E

LV 159.560 - Vorlesung / Übung - Bachelor

Gebäudetechnik

Prof. Brian Cody, Mast. arh. Aleksandar Tepavcevic, DI Martin Schneebacher, DI Minoru Suzuki

 

 

INFO

PROJEKTE

VU Gebäudetechnik WS 159.560 | 3SWS | 4ECTS | Bachelor

 

Basierend auf den Inhalten des Vorlesungsteils Gebäudetechnik soll im Übungsteil der Lehrveranstaltung die Fähigkeit entwickelt werden, Gebäude aus einer energe¬tischen und gebäudetechnischen Perspektive zu beur¬teilen, um die daraus gewonnenen Erkenntnisse in eigene zukünftige Entwürfe einfließen zu lassen. Heuer wird die Hoteltypologie untersucht und analysiert. Die Studierenden untersuchen die komplexe Wechselwirkung zwischen Raumklima, Gebäudehülle, aktiven Gebäudetechniksyste¬men und der architektonischen Form. Es wird der Frage nachgegangen, inwieweit Architektur und Technik miteinander interagieren bzw. ob sie sich im Sinne eines Synergieeffekts positiv verstärken, und wieweit diese Synergie existiert und funktioniert, auf gleicher Art und Weise in unterschiedlichen Klimabedingungen. Anhand von Case Studies bekannter internationaler Projekte, werden die ausgesuchten Hotelbauten zuerst in originalen Kontext und Klimabedingungen analysiert. Danach werden die Studierenden aufgefordert die Entwurfsvorschläge zu machen, um das bestehende Konzept auf neue Klimabedingungen des Standortes wie Rio de Janeiro, London, Toronto, und Dubai anzupassen.

 

tug online

copyright - Institut für Gebäude und Energie , TU Graz, 2016

Impressum