• ABOUT

    Based on global warming, decline of existing energy resources, exponential population growth, increasing geopolitical instabilities which are the result of uncertainty of the future energy supply, together with the fact that buildings represent about 40% of total energy consumption worldwide leads to a conclusion that a good architecture is not possible without a good energy concept.

     

    The buildings represent the bigger part of one of the biggest problem of our society - fair distribution of available resources. Therefore architecture can be a big part of the solution. Never before in the history of our civilization architecture had such a chance to gain one of the central roles in the society. Good architecture is always representing the expression of the cultural values, priorities and hopes of a society. Now it can produce a physical response for the existential challenges.

     

    A sustainable development by definition cannot get along with the decay in architectural quality of our built environment. A building with low architectural quality and good energy concept is not an actual benefit for a sustainable future. The objective of research and teaching at the Institute is the maximization of energy performance of buildings and cities, and the development of architectural and urban projects through form and structure optimization toward energy efficiency.

  • TEAM

    Head of the Institute

    Brian Cody

    consultation-hour

    Assistant

    consultation-hour - wednesday 11:00 - 12:00

    alexander.eberl@tugraz.at

    Project Assistant/Lector

    Sebastian Sautter

    sautter@tugraz.at

    Lector

    Martin Schneebacher

    martin.schneebacher@tugraz.at

    Student assistant

    lilli.kroher@student.tugraz.at

    Office hours

    Monday - Friday, 09:00 - 12:00

    doris.damm@tugraz.at

    Assistant

    Aleksandar Tepavcevic

    consultation-hour - friday 11:00 - 12:00

    aleksandar.tepavcevic@tugraz.at

    Lector

    Alexandru Dan

    dan@tugraz.at

    Student assistant

    filip.l.pejic@student.tugraz.at

    Assistant

    Christiane Wermke

    christiane.wermke@tugraz.at

    Lector

    Minoru Suzkuki

    minoru.suzuki@tugraz.at

    Student assistant

    predrag.jovanovic@student.tugraz.at

D

 / E

Sports Building of the Future in Puconci

Prof. Brian Cody

Andreas Ampenberger

Andreas Karitnig

Ingomar Platzer

INFO

PHOTOS

Fields of reference

Building Performance

 

Description

The Institute for buildings and energy at TU Graz was commissioned to analyse how energy efficient sports venues of the 21st century may be conceptuated in the framework of a pilot study. For the subsequent architectural competition of an energy efficient triple-purpose sports hall within the municipality of Puconi in the north east of Slovenia, the pilot study was being used as planning guide. The sports hall was conceived for educational purposes of a local school as well as a sports venue for the numerous practiced sports in the municipality. This pilot, through its guiding character, was meant to show the possibilities of an energy efficient sports hall. The development of the energetic concept was conducted by the means of analytical processes of the optimization of a virtual model. Dynamic-thermal simulations, daylight simulations and CFD- simulations were undertaken to analyze the model. Apart from achieving a high energy performance, innovative design possibilities were shown. The assessment of the energy efficiency was done by identifying the energy demand in consideration of comfort criteria.

 

Duration

September 2006 – Oktober 2006

 

Publications

Ampenberger A.: „Sporthalle der Zukunft in Puconci. Konzeptstudie für eine energieeffiziente Sporthalle“, Graz 2007

PDF

 

More info: tug online

copyright - Institut für Gebäude und Energie , TU Graz, 2016

Impressum

• ABOUT

    Vor dem vorherrschenden Hintergrund der globalen Erwärmung, rapide zur Neige gehenden Energieressourcen, exponentiellen Bevölkerungswachstums, steigenden geopolitischen Instabilitäten, die aus der Unsicherheit der zukünftigen Energieversorgungssituation resultieren, zusammen mit der Tatsache, dass Gebäude für mindestens 40% des weltweiten Energieverbrauches verantwortlich sind, ist gute Architektur ohne ein gutes Energiekonzept nicht möglich.

     

    Gebäude stellen einen Großteil eines der wahrscheinlich größten Probleme unserer Gesellschaft dar - nämlich die gerechte Aufteilung, der uns zur Verfügung stehenden Ressourcen. Architektur kann somit einen Großteil der Lösung darstellen. Nie zuvor wurde dieser Disziplin eine vergleichbare Chance geboten, eine derartige zentrale Rolle in der Geschichte der Menschheit einzunehmen. Gute Architektur ist immer ein konkreter Ausdruck der kulturellen Werte, Prioritäten und Hoffnungen einer Gesellschaft. Jetzt kann sie auch die physische Antwort für diese existentielle Herausforderung liefern.

     

    Eine nachhaltige Entwicklung kann per Definition nicht mit einem gleichzeitigen Verlust an der architektonischen Qualität unserer gebauten Umwelt einhergehen. Ein Gebäude mit wenig architektonischer Qualität und einem guten Energiekonzept leistet somit keinen wirklichen Beitrag zu einer nachhaltigen Zukunft. Schwerpunkt der Forschung und Lehre am IGE ist die Maximierung der Energieperformance von Gebäuden und Städten und die Entwicklung von Architektur- und Urban Designprojekten, welche durch Optimierung ihrer Form und Struktur inhärent hoch energieeffizient sind.

     

  • TEAM

    Institutsleiter

    Brian Cody

    Sprechstunden n. V. im Sekretariat

    Universitätsassistent

    Alexander Eberl

    Sprechstunden Mittwoch 11:00 - 12:00

    alexander.eberl@tugraz.at

    Projektassistent/Lehrbeauftragter

    Sebastian Sautter

    sautter@tugraz.at

    Lehrbeauftragter

    Martin Schneebacher

    martin.schneebacher@tugraz.at

    Studienassistentin

    Vesa Bunjaku

    vesabunja@gmail.com

    Sekretariat

    Doris Damm

    Öffnungszeiten Sekretariat:

    Montag - Freitag, 09:00 - 12:00

    doris.damm@tugraz.at

    Universitätsassistent

    Aleksandar Tepavcevic

    Sprechstunden Freitag 11:00 - 12:00

    aleksandar.tepavcevic@tugraz.at

    Lehrbeauftragter

    dan@tugraz.at

    Studienassistentin

    Gresë Ramadani

    ramadanigrese@gmail.com

    Universitätsassistentin

    Christiane Wermke

    christiane.wermke@tugraz.at

    Lehrbeauftragter

    Minoru Suzkuki

    minoru.suzuki@tugraz.at

    Studienassistent

    predrag.jovanovic@student.tugraz.at

    Studienassistentin

    lilli.kroher@student.tugraz.at

    Studienassistent

    filip.l.pejic@student.tugraz.at

D /

E

Sporthalle der Zukunft in Puconci

Prof. Brian Cody

Andreas Ampenberger

Andreas Karitnig

Ingomar Platzer

INFO

BILDER

Sachgebiete

Building Performance

 

Beschreibung

Das Institut für Gebäude und Energie an der TU Graz wurde beauftragt, im Rahmen einer Pilotstudie zu untersuchen, wie eine energieeffiziente Sportstätte des  21. Jahrhunderts konzipiert werden soll. Für den nachgeschalteten Architektenwettbewerb für eine energieeffiziente Dreifachsporthalle in der Gemeinde Puconci im Nordosten Sloweniens wurde die Studie als Planungshilfe herangezogen. Neben dem Sportunterricht an der Schule sollte die neue Anlage auch als regionales Sportzentrum für die zahlreichen dort betriebenen Sportarten in der Gemeinde dienen. Dieses Pilotprojekt sollte durch seinen richtungweisenden Charakter die Möglichkeiten für einen energieeffizienten Sportstättenbau aufzeigen. Die Entwicklung der energetischen Konzeption erfolgte mittels eines analytischen Prozesses der Optimierung eines virtuellen Modells. Untersuchungen des Modells durch dynamisch-thermische Simulationen, Tageslichtsimulationen und CFD-Simulationen wurden durchgeführt. Neben der Erreichung einer hohen energetischen Performance wurden neuartige Gestaltungsmöglichkeiten aufgezeigt. Eine Bewertung der Gesamtenergieeffizienz erfolgt durch die Ermittlung des Energiebedarfs bei Beachtung von Behaglichkeitskriterien.

 

Laufzeit

Juli 2007 - Dezember 2007

 

Veröffentlichungen

Ampenberger A.: „Sporthalle der Zukunft in Puconci. Konzeptstudie für eine energieeffiziente Sporthalle“, Graz 2007

PDF

 

Mehr Info: tug online

copyright - Institut für Gebäude und Energie , TU Graz, 2016

Impressum